Neufeld Named Pawhuska Schools Superintendent

May 27, 2016

The Pawhuska School District has a new superintendent.  The Pawhuska School Board has named Janet Neufeld of Salina, Kansas as the new superintendent, replacing Dr. Landon Berry, who served as Pawhuska Schools superintendent since 2012.  23 people applied for the job. Neufeld will ... read more »

Black Faces More Charges

May 26, 2016

An Enid man who is facing robbery charges in Washington County is in trouble with the law again.  James T. Black is charged with aggravated assault and battery and threaten to perform an act of violence.  Washington County Sheriff Deputies took a report of an inmate who was hurt by Blac ... read more »

Dewey to Hold 25th Annual Antique Show

May 26, 2016

The 25th Annual Dewey Antique Show will be held on Saturday, June 4th at the Washington County Fair Building. Citizens of Washington County and people from surrounding areas will visit to see the 100 plus booths at the show. New and returning dealers from Oklahoma, Arkansas, Kansas, Missou ... read more »

Sunfest 2016

May 26, 2016

Sunfest will be holding its annual festival starting on June 3. The three-day event features arts and crafts, battle of the bands, a car show, and several other things to do. In its 34th year, Sunfest continues to bring arts and entertainment to the community. However, arts and crafts won't ... read more »

Oklahoma's Alcohol Laws

May 26, 2016

Oklahomans could buy cold strong beer and wine at grocery and convenience stores under a sweeping overhaul of the state's alcohol laws approved by the Legislature that hinges on voters approving a state question in November.   The Senate voted 33-12 on Thursday for the 285-page bill ... read more »

State Senate Candidates Air Views

May 26, 2016

The Green Country Republican Woman's club held the District 29 Republican State Senate Seat debate in downtown Bartlesville Tuesday evening at 7. The candidates– Mrs. Julie Daniels and Dr. Jean Oliver– answered questions on a number of topics from both party officials and a ... read more »

Nowata Chamber Schedules City Garage Sale

May 26, 2016

The Nowata Chamber of Commerce will hold it's annual City Wide Garage Sale on the first weekend of June. Nowata's residents will be setting up sale areas all over town, and people from surrounding cities are welcome to join in on the event. Nowata Chamber Executive Director Skylar Waters ... read more »

Road Closed Due to High Water

May 25, 2016

At 10am Washington County Emergency Management issued a Road Closure Statement. W 3700 RD just west of N 4000 RD is currently closed due to High Water. Washington County Emergency Management advises Do NOT drive into high water. In Bartlesville the overnight storms brought 2.63in of rain, and ... read more »

Big Heart Day This Weekend

May 25, 2016

This Saturday is the 63rd Big Heart Day in Barnsdall, but the festivities will begin this Friday. The golf tournament will kick off the weekends events at Adams Golf Course in Bartlesville and the Barnsdall High School alumni basketball game will take place Friday evening.   Saturday ... read more »

Counterfeit Bills and Drugs Leads To Arrest

May 25, 2016

A probable cause hearing was held for 28-year old Erin Samuel Crawford, who was arrested for possession of counterfeit documents, possession of methamphetamine, possession of paraphernalia, and tampering with a surveillance camera.  Bartlesville police served a search warrant at a home in th ... read more »

Military Cards World Record

May 25, 2016

Daughters of the American Revolution, the lineage based organization, is attempting to set a Guinness World Record for sending out the most cards to soldiers at one time. Chapters across the United States are all pitching in to the collective effort. Barbra Fulton, a member of the Bartlesvill ... read more »

Osage Nation Charge Reece Brothers

May 25, 2016

The Osage Nation has filed murder charges against Reece brothers Tyler and Jeremy. Due to the recent decision by Judge Stuart Tate, who ruled the state lacked jurisdiction in the murder of Pawhuska Oilman Rick Holt, the Osage Nation Attorney General's office has filed charges against the brot ... read more »

State Budget Agreement Reached

May 25, 2016

Gov. Mary Fallin has reached a budget deal with Republican legislative leaders that includes no further cuts to public schools and prevents cuts to Medicaid provider rates. In a joint announcement Tuesday, the three sides said the agreement would close $969.3 million of the $1.3 billion budget ... read more »

Eggberts Responds to Breast Feeding Allegations

May 25, 2016

Spokesman for Eggberts Restaurants, Byron Boles has spoken out on a story concerning a woman who was breastfeeding a child in the restaurant that was in the news over the weekend .  Boles acknowledged the concerns of those who have spoken out.  He appreciates the importance of a mother& ... read more »

State House Cuts Mandatory Testing

May 24, 2016

Public school students will have to take fewer state-mandated tests under a bill approved overwhelmingly in the Oklahoma House. The House voted 95-1 on Monday for the bill that will eliminate several tests that students are currently required to take, including seventh-grade geography, fifth- ... read more »